Review: Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”

This line is the main essence of Everything, Everything . Throughout her 18 years of existence., there is only one fact that Madeline lived with: She’s terribly ill. She goes out, she dies. She’s trapped in her house, living with her mom and a nurse who takes care of her needs. She never knew she’s trapped because this has been her life for 18 years.. until she got a taste of the Outside. Until she met Olly.

This book’s concept isn’t really new but what made love this book is I empathized with Maddy so much. Like her, I also feel trapped in my own home. Not physically, but I’m trapped in my family’s expectations. I know that I have not reached the peak of my potential yet. I know that there is so much in this world that I’ve yet to explore. But just like Maddy I have to break free and break through. I have to break free from the mental and emotional traps that I’ve set myself in.

This isn’t just a story of love, mind you. It’s about living your life to the fullest, without hesitation and fear. It’s about realizing that the world could offer you so much and all you have to do is step out of your shell and take the risks.

Another reason why I connect with Maddy so much is because her Olly situation is kind of the same with mine in terms of 1) being in a long distance relationship (Maddy was KIND of in an LDR too, okay? haha) 2) how I feel with my significant other.

“In my head I know I’ve been in love before, but it doesn’t feel like it. Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and the only time all at once.”

A little TMI: I’ve been with someone before my boyfriend now but this quote accurately and amazingly summarizes what I feel for him. I haven’t met him personally yet but I know that he’s the one for me. We took the risk of being together we’re from opposite sides of the world, and I think that is the best decision I’ve made so far. We’ll be meeting in less than two months and I couldn’t be more excited in exploring the world with him! 😀 THIS. This is the kind of love, the kind of life, the kind of feeling that I wish for every being on this planet.

And remember:
“Everything is a risk. Not doing anything is a risk.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

